BLOG

4 Books you can´t live without, if you love Oral Implantology and Plastic Periodontal Surgery

Blog English, Implantology

Recommending books about implant dentistry is easy, buying them is slightly more difficult (some of them are expensive), but reading an entire book is tough work and sometimes it can be boring depending on the topic.

But there are books that once you start to read them, you really get engaged to: they are practical, they have a lot of pictures and then, sometimes they are even useful because you can apply what you just read the day after. And that type of books is what I´m going to recommend to you (every recommendation has a link directly to the Amazon store where you can order your book).

I use Amazon cause they are reliable and fast delivering and also because they have all the books available in a lot of languages and I´m only interested in English books (as you have noticed, is something I have to improve, and so I make the effort of reading everything if it is possible in English).

Some of the books are recent, and others not so recent, but they should be a part of your library and be a part of your routine knowledge. I ranked them as they are my favorites:

#1. Plastic-Esthetic Periodontal and Implant Surgery. (Hürzeler & Zhur)

Three words to describe this book: Amazing, Amazing & Amazing. Step by step in every procedure with amazing pictures and illustrations for every clinical case. I can´t live without this book. It is my Bible right now and I use it so often that I consider it a priceless piece of art. If you don´t have it I just can advise you to buy it NOW!


#2. ITI Treatment Guide, Volume 10, Implant Therapy in the Esthetic Zone, Current Treatment Modalities and Materials for Single-tooth Replacements

This book is an update of the ITI Vol. 1 about implants in the aesthetic zone. If the classic was a must-read, this one is a must-have-must-read-must-everything. The bible for every dentist who performs implants in the aesthetic zone.


#3. Bone Augmentation in Implant Dentistry: A Step-by-Step Guide to Predictable Alveolar Ridge and Sinus Grafting

Implant dentistry has evolved tremendously over the past three decades and is rapidly progressing as new materials and protocols become available each year. With the number of advancements made in digitally based media and marketing, it is imperative that the clinician be able to separate new trends from evidence-based protocols to make sound and predictable choices for the ultimate benefit of patients.

This textbook presents cases from the Master Professor Pikos, 35-year practice to show the successes and failures of various treatment approaches and protocols.


#4. Mucogingival Esthetic Surgery (G. Zucchelli)

If we talk about aesthetics and periodontal plastic surgery we have to mention Zucchelli. He is one of the big masters in soft tissue management and also one of the top clinical researchers in this field. His last book is plenty of awesome photos with a step by step for almost every situation involving plastic periodontal surgery. This is for sure a long lasting piece of art and guides for those who are newbies and also for advanced periodontal surgeons.


#5. (extra bonus) 20 years of Guided Bone Regeneration in Implant Dentistry (Buser)

I always consider the feedback from my visitors and after sharing this article, some followers just considered that between these 4 books should also be this one. I completely agree with them and that´s why I did an update to the article, and now it is a “4+1 books that you should read”.

This book has a detailed explanation of the principal techniques and of course the rationale behind the whole story about the guided bone regeneration. It should be included here and now you have the links below to the book.


One last recommendation Vertical and Horizontal Ridge Augmentation: New Perspectives by Istvan Urban.

This is not a book for everyone. Urban is a world top performer when it comes to vertical and horizontal bone augmentation. Finally, he gathers in one book everything he published during the past 15 years.

I repeat, this book is only if you want to learn very advanced techniques in guided bone regeneration.

It is a piece of art.


Conclusion

Although this is not an article about any specific surgery technique, and you already know some of the recommended books above, I found interesting to gather them in a same recommendation article because as I can notice when I analyze my Google analytics, the age span of my visitors are between 20-35 years in 50% of the overall visitors, and this may be helpful for those who want to begin reading about implantology, but also for that advanced and well-trained surgeon that doesn’t have enough time to read, and even less time to seek or search for the best books about his field of action.

Please leave your comment below if you want to make any recommendation to the audience.

Menu
Scroll Up